Guilty

I was sitting at a stoplight, higher up in my van. I could see directly into the windows of her car.

She was turned towards the back seat. Beating her kid with a shoe. 

I honked. 

She stopped and looked at me. She turned forward.

She turned again, the shoe rose up into the air and came crashing down again. Over and over. 

I couldn’t see the child, only his hand in the window.

I honked and honked and honked.

She looked at me. The light turned green.

I didn’t write down her tag. I didn’t call the police.

I am full of guilt. I let that child down. I didn’t report. 

I failed that child. I am full of guilt. 

Leave a Reply

