A boy.

My good friend, Kristi, had her baby. A boy! A perfect, beautiful, heathy little boy. A little boy so full of promise. A little boy who happens to share a birthday with my little boy! And right now, this little boy is begging to be breastfed. 

And Kristi is struggling.  Struggling to make breastfeeding work. Struggling to feel confident. Struggling to succeed.

So when Kristi called me crying, I knew that I had to go to her. It doesn’t matter that time, distance, college, husband, jobs, kids, and dreams have all come between us. It doesn’t matter that I haven’t actually seen Kris for over two years. We are now both mothers. Kristi is a new mother that reached out and asked for help.  

So I went. I sat next to her and told her what a great job she was doing. I told her how proud I am of her. I told her that she can do this. I watched her nourish her baby with the best. I remember being in that place, thinking I couldn’t do it.

I’ve been there. I’ve done that. I did it.

Last week was World Breastfeeding Week.

Give your baby the best. Kristi is.

If you need me to, I’ll come and sit next to you while you are naked and breastfeeding your baby. I’m a good friend like that. I bet you all wish you knew me in person, oh wide world of the internet. 

Leave a Reply

