Little boxes

Matt doesn’t really want me to blog about this. Though, truth be told, Matt doesn’t really want me to blog about a lot of the stuff I blog about. Good thing he’s at work tonight. 

He can’t tell me no.
 

 

 

If you can’t see the video, click here. (Or get out of google reader. I know you’re out there. De-lurk!)

We found a house our house. It has everything I want. (SING WITH ME: Little boxes on the hillside. Little boxes made of ticky tacky. Little boxes…) It’s got room for a porch swing, mature trees, the potential for a red front door, (there’s a green one and a pink one and a blue one and a yellow one) a formal dining room, an eat-in kitchen, an unfinished basement, a huge master bedroom and bathroom with a jetted tub (for a future home-birth?) (and they all have pretty children), a fenced in backyard, landscaping, and it’s in great condition. The carpets are clean. It’s on a cul-de-sac. It’s closer to Matt’s work. (Little boxes, Little boxes, Little boxes all the same.)

It’s perfect. I want it. I want it badly.

We’ve known about this house for months now. Unfortunately, it’s not actually on the market yet. The house is in foreclosure and an asking price has not been set. The previous owners packed their bags, swept the carpets, and left the house. It’s been sitting empty for over a year.

Our home? 

Our realtor, Brandi, is the listing agent and we are so very hopeful that everything will work out. She will be instrumental in creating a price that is within our budget and we’ve placed all our trust in her. The redemption period ends this Friday. (FINALLY.) A slew of paperwork must be completed from the bank and the lawyers. Then Brandi will meet with the appraiser and hopefully they will come to an agreement on a price.

We have an idea of what the price will be but we just don’t know yet. I feel tacky (pun intended) talking about house prices. (Our debt numbers? Not so much.) All I know is this, thank goodness it is in foreclosure. We couldn’t afford this much house otherwise.

Don’t let me down, Brandi.

Our home?
 

I want my little box.

Leave a Reply

