Thank you

Dear Mrs. Kelly,

I’ll admit that last August I had a really hard time. I didn’t want to let him go. I didn’t know you. I didn’t know anything about you. I didn’t know your teaching style. Or your expectations or your tone of voice. I didn’t know if you would be incredible or awful.

Baby K 140-1 
 
Fortunately, it’s been nine months and we know you now. After all, you’ve been with Simon five days a week. (By the way, are you interested in keeping him some more? I couldn’t stand the thought of being away from Simon all day. Now? What am I going to do with him for eight hours every day?)

The things he has learned have been all because of you. And he’s learned so much. He’s reading now. He’s writing tons. He can add and subtract. You brought that all into focus. You did it.
 

Baby K 141-1 
 
I don’t know if I can thank you enough. You made our entrance into the public schools an easy one. The transition was smooth and we had no problems. We got lucky, I know that. I personally know some awful teachers out there. Teachers who don’t care. Teachers who lose their patience, who have zero classroom management skills, who have no control. Teachers who work only to get paid.

You aren’t one of those teachers. You were kind and loving. You opened your classroom and made yourself available to him.

 

Baby K 173-1

 

Thanks, Mrs. Kelly, for all that you did and for all that you will do for others. Thank you for being Simon’s first teacher. You made a difference in our world. Thank you for being so incredible.
 

Leave a Reply

