Best thing since sliced bread

There is an old saying that goes like this,
 

"A daughter is a daughter all her life. A son is a son, until he gets a wife."
 
I can’t stop my children from growing up. I can’t stop them from loving others. I can’t choose their paths. I can’t control their destiny. I can’t pick their spouses or make them love me. Except I can’t even begin to look to the future without thinking about right now.

Right now, I have two beautiful, wonderful little boys that think I am the best thing since sliced bread. They (mostly) want to sit beside me. They ride in my car. They sleep in my bed. They hold my hand. They steal my drink. They tell me everything.

Will this probably change? Yes. Do I already see the evidence in my tall 7 and 1/2 year old little boy? Yes. Does he need me a little less all the time? Yes.

Being a mother is the best. Being the eventual mother-in-law to sons? Probably is going to suck just a little. My boys will grow up and (hopefully) find a partner to share their lives. I will help plan weddings but only if the future spouse lets me. I’ll learn to pin a boutonniere. I’ll try and keep my mouth closed. I’ll be just the mother-in-law.

But I’ll always be a mother to three wonderful, beautiful babies.    
 

It's a girl! 013
 
The baby looks so good. Completely developing right on track at 19weeks, 2 days- with two arms, two legs, a bladder, a heart with four chambers, and a brain. We saw an incredible and amazing little baby. I can’t even begin to describe the emotion in watching the baby wiggle and dance. I’m not going to lie. I cried watching.

And this beautiful baby…

It's a girl! 015

…is a girl.

Leave a Reply

