How to store breastmilk

This is pretty much the best idea EVER for storing breastmilk. No more wonky bags of milk standing in a huddle taking up unnecessary space in the freezer. I would love to give somebody credit because this is not my original idea- we all know that I'm not smart enough to figure this out on my own- but I can't. THANK YOU, INTERNET FOR YOUR WEALTH OF INFORMATION.

Simple breastmilk storage

In case you are not a visual learner, let me break it down for you.

  1. Freeze breastmilk laying down.
  2. Cut a small slit in the bottom of a gift bag. If it's a gift bag from your wedding? EVEN BETTER. Happy 8th anniversary, honey. It's the gift that keeps on giving!
  3. Put freshly expressed milk on the top, pull older milk out the bottom. GENIUS. SERIOUSLY GENIUS.
  4. Place inside the freezer next to the frozen french fries. Please ignore the vodka next to the ground beef and the popsicles. (HEY NOW. Mama deserves a treat too.) (I'm talking about the popsicles.) (DUH.)

So there you go. I have been donating most of my expressed milk, so my bag is rarely ever very full. Nothing makes me feel better than giving away all my hard work. Pumping sucks (get it? pun totally intended) but at least I'm not hoarding milk that is about to go bad. (Unlike gift bags from my wedding eight years ago.) My milk donation is not much, maybe 30 oz. every couple of weeks, but better than nothing. Human milk for human babies, right? I believe so.

Good ideas that aren't mine and boob juice, I am just so happy to share. 

Leave a Reply

