Thanksgiving

I wouldn't be a normal American if I didn't pause before Thanksgiving and write about what I am thankful for. It's like it goes without saying though. Of course, I am most thankful for my three little blessings. Who wouldn't be thankful for them?

I mean, just look at them. I COULD EAT THEM WITH A SPOON. Also note Bennett's face of admiration. He absolutely, without a shadow of a doubt, adores his brother and sister.

Tonight Simon had to decorate a cake for Boy Scouts. The theme was "What am I thankful for?" After vetoing a skateboard theme, we settled on family. If this cake isn't a more accurate family snapshot of us, then I don't know what is. I'm pretty sure this would make the world's best Christmas card. No?

Disregard the fact that Matt's hair is a whole lot MORE salt and a whole lot LESS pepper. And speaking of hair, I'm not sure what exactly is going on with Simon's hair (Afro? Muff? Tumbleweed blowing in the breeze?). I'm also not sure why my hair looks like poop turds in both shape AND color. Never mind the fact that Matt and I each have two different colored candy eyes too.

Actually, now that I think about it, I do give the evil eye quite often when they drive me crazy. So maybe that one is partially true.

Cora's bow though? SPOT ON.

Bennett's cowlick? PERFECTION.

The heart in the corner? My heart? BE STILL.

So on the eve (of the eve) of this Thanksgiving, when you pause to think about your blessings, my hope is that you may have some cake and eat it too. May your plate be full and your heart even fuller.

And if nothing else, I hope you pause and are thankful that your hair doesn't resemble poop turds. 

Happy Thanksgiving from my family to yours.

Leave a Reply

