Reindeer Ornament

I don't craft. I don't sew or knit or crochet. I don't make pretty pillows or hairbows for Cora Jane. I don't do handmade. I decorate my home with overpriced, mass produced, and store purchased decorations EXCEPT for the Christmas crap that my children drag home from school. These, my friends, are the gifts that keep on giving.

And now I have a gift for you. Mama got her craft on today at Simon's classroom party (Thank you, Pinterest for the idea) and I thought I would share. This only happens once in a blue moon, so please enjoy this tutorial.

BEHOLD: RUDOLPH the slightly askew RED NOSED REINDEER.

reindeer ornament

Supplies:
Glass (or plastic) ornaments
1/2 sheet of brown construction paper
Red and white paint
One brown pipe cleaner
Sharpies

reindeer ornament

Steps:
1.) Tear 1/2 sheet of brown paper into small pieces and stuff inside ornament.
2.) Use the sharpies and allow the kid to write their name and the year on the back.
3.) Cut pipe cleaner in half. Use the first half to make a V shape. Cut the other half into half again. Wrap the two small pieces around the V for antlers.
4.) Press thumb into red paint for the nose and the index finger for the eyes.
5.) After it dries, add black dots to the eyes and an optional mouth.
6.) Pat yourself on the back for not eating any children during the duration of the craft.

reindeer ornament
GO FORTH AND CRAFT, people.
Leave a Reply

