It’s been awhile since I talked about my boobs

Now that Cora is no longer a wee little baby, I am finding it a little bit harder to breastfeed in public. Just to keep the record straight, I will always, always, always support nursing in public. I would never! ever! hide in a bathroom (Um, gross? Do you eat in bathrooms?) or my car or even under a blanket.

I truly believe that If I want to see a change in society, then I have to do my part to normalize breastfeeding. If you need a blanket to feel comfortable, by all means, USE IT. I am not ashamed to feed my baby and I want others to feel confident too. There is NOTHING sexual about it and I could care less what others think of me. (Unless you think I am awesome. In which case, you are right.) I won't hide or hinder what my baby needs even if that makes YOU feel uncomfortable.

SORRY. ENOUGH WITH THE SHOUTY CAPITALS.

bfeeding

But….Cora, oh contraire, has other ideas about nursing in public and even at home right now. At almost 14 months, (Help me, Ronda) she is suddenly much more interested in everything BUT nursing. She would rather chase the boys, or open every drawer in the house, or walk around with my cell phone plastered to her ear, or go for a swim, or eat dirt.

Sit and nurse? No, thanks.

Consequently, nursing has gently reduced to mornings, naptimes, and bedtimes. (OH, AND ALL NIGHT LONG STILL. Cora thinks that sleeping is soooo over-rated especially sleeping longer than 4 hours without eating.) The day time reduction in feeding is both a blessing (freedom!) and a curse (leaks!) all at the same time. 

I'm writing this simply so that I can remember what "extended" (aka: NORMAL) nursing looks like right now, for us. It's such a special time of bonding that goes so quickly and I love providing exactly what she needs. I am going to look back on this entry in 16 years and miss this time. I just know it.

Unless, of course, she is still nursing. (JUST KIDDING.)
 

Leave a Reply

