Bonus

We enrolled and paid for Bennett's spot at the Lawrence Art Center Preschool last week. While we really enjoyed his preschool experience last year, I am looking forward to this year and all the fun stuff that happens at the Art Center. Fun stuff = a million art projects to display.

This is Bennett's special year- his bonus year of "I get to be a kid one year longer."

July 2012 112

We could totally send Bennett to full day kindergarten. His August birthday comes just before the cut-off date. Not going to lie- my life would be SOO MUCH EASIER if we sent him all day. It is so tempting to do what is best for me and not what his best for him. I wouldn't have to worry about childcare, or who is going to drop him off at the Art Center, or who is going to pick him up. I wouldn't have to keep him entertained or feed him lunch. My house would be cleaner and much quieter.

Oh, Ben-butt. Don't worry. I am not going to send you off to school. This is your bonus year and I am not going to make you grow up any faster than necessary. Did you know you have your whole life to be an adult? That is the choice that we are making. Either we push you out and make you grow up OR we let you stay home one extra year. You aren't ready to sit and learn all day. You aren't ready to separate from your home and the people you love best. The maturity you need to manage in a classroom all day isn't there yet. You don't know all your letters and your brain isn't ready to process all the information. I'm not ready to let you go either.

Sure, you would be totally fine if we did send you. You might struggle and have a difficult time but you would eventually make it. However, I don't want that for you. I don't want you to face adversity. I don't want you to struggle. I want you to love school. I want you to be ready for the tough stuff.

July 2012 113

Another year at home is what you get whether you like it or not. You also get the gift, the privilege, of being one of the oldest in your class and we hope this makes you a better leader and a better friend. If nothing else, you can be the friend with the car that drives everyone around. You will not, however, be the friend that buys the beer.

We have high expectations of you, kiddo, and we expect nothing but great things. Great big things that can only happen when you are ready and you aren't ready yet.

So we wait and we hope and we have more year to go.      

Leave a Reply

