Month 18

The day almost slipped past me before I realized the date. Today is the 15th of November and exactly 18 months ago, Cora Jane was born. Say it ain't so, man. This is the beginning of the end of her babyhood. Nobody cares how many months she is now. When somebody asks? She's 18 months. Until it becomes not true and then it's easier to say she's almost two. No more counting months.

😦

Happy 1/2 birthday to you, sweet girl. Happy 1/2 birthday to me.*

Just rocked this babe down for a nap. #widn tagged by @tyleesmamma. Hmm... I tag @hodgesx4 and @mtpoolie   Successful transfer. Please don't move for at least two hours. Thank you. Have a nice day.
Currently, Cora continues to be less baby and more big girl all the time. She always, always, always wants to be with her brothers especially if they are outside. She is more into playing now and plays using repetition. She'll put her babies in out and of the high chair. Or carry a basket and put things in and out. Over and over again. She is also (FINALLY) putting less things in her mouth but still maintains the Baby-Zilla nickname.
If you build it, Cora will destroy it.
 Counting and sorting Mama's halloween treats in an effort to keep themselves busy for approximately .2 seconds. Verdict: success!   First she scribbled and then she ate the chalk.

Sleeping and food continue to be our biggest battles. Some days she eats. Other days she doesn't. Some days she naps three hours. Other days she naps 10 minutes in the car. If I am working, she generally does better with both food and sleeping. Matt can get her to eat and nap no problem. I, on the other hand, have to nurse her and rock her down. If I don't nurse, she pulls at my shirt and says "milk milk?"

She is weighing in around 22-23 lbs and is still rocking the "no hair, don't care" look. Maybe if she ate food, she would grow some hair?
Weight check: 17 months, 23 lbs.   Baby hoarder in the bathtub.

Language is improving but still delayed. I thought girls were supposed to talk sooner? All three of my kiddos have taken forever to talk and Cora is no exception. Her receptive language is great and she is awesome at following directions. (Where is your blanket? Go get a diaper and a wipe. Throw it away in the bathroom. Take that lego out of your mouth. Go get your shoes and get in the car.) She also knows some body parts (mouth, ear, hair, toes, and tummy) but gets eyes and nose mixed up.

Expressively, she parrots back and uses a ton of jargon but none of it clearly. I think most people could understand Mama, Daddy, bow, shoes, Lizzy, kitty, more, milk, hi, bye, uh-oh and shoes.

Some days are yellow. Some are blue. On different days I'm different too. Gray day... Everything is gray. I watch. But nothing moves today. Name that book? #readerswin #gobigorgohome   upload
Speaking of shoes, the girl loves 'em. She also likes taking clothes on and off. (That one is so annoying. No, I am not changing your outfit, darling). Many times we find her with clothing draped around her shoulders or random hats on her head. She's almost always wearing a bow too and can take them off and put them back on herself.

Other things she takes off: socks and diapers and stickers.***

Rocked the vote today for this little lady and for marriage equality. Dream big, sister.
Cora Janie,

Master of mess, milkie breath baby, I love you so much. You are worth the work, did you know that? Even though I act exasperated I'll clean up your disasters and I'll nurse you to sleep again and again. You are the best birthday present I've ever received. I can't believe it happened 18 months ago. Today might be the beginning of the end of your babyhood but our story is still being written. We have so much more do and learn and see. I can't wait to discover it all together. I am not really sad.

I am happy and I love you. All ways, always,

Mama.

~~~~
*I am now 29 1/2 which means I am only six months away from 30. I'm a young chicken so I'm not worried. In fact, I got bangs cut last week, so now I look EVEN younger. You didn't think it was possible, did you? We've got family pictures this weekend. More pictures will be coming soon.

**Yes, she did vote. For Obama.

Leave a Reply

