Plant tour (continued)

You know when I said I would be back “tomorrow” to finish out the plant tour, I really meant like 5 days later, right? On an ideal week, I try to blog two times. But who are we kidding? It’s hardly ever an ideal week and I rarely have time to post two times a week.

Which is why it’s 11:30 and I’m still up in front of the computer. My sheets are also in the dryer since somebody cough cough Cora Jane puked all over them last night.

Things I do for the blog, man.

Feb 2013 034

Silver Snake Plant (also known as Mother-in-Law’s Tongue) is one of my newer plants. He was so sad and neglected that I just had to bring him home and give him some love. We’re still getting to know each other.

January 2013 096

I don’t know this guy’s name. He’s got variegated leaves and he gets wilty without water. The pot is from Pottery Barn. Hey, Pottery Barn, you should make drainage holes in your pretty pottery. Otherwise, I’ll continue to make Matt drill holes in the bottom while threatening to scream if he cracks the side.

Wouldn’t it be cool if the people of Pottery Barn saw this post? #keepdreaming #somedaythisblogwillbebig #hashtagsonlyworkontwitter

January 2013 121

Another no name plant. Another Pottery Barn hacked pot.

January 2013 108

This here is a Jade plant and, let’s be honest, I have a terrible time with succulents. I tend to give them too much love. When I say “love,” I really mean water. However, even when I don’t water my succs, they still die. This guy is relatively new and, surprisingly, is liking my cool kitchen window. (Google tells me Jade likes cool temps when it’s not the growing season.)

Google never lies, so we’re good.

May he live a long life. Or just until his leaves plump up and fall off.

Feb 2013 061

Oh, a pretty orchid. Of course I must have an orchid. My Mother has the patience to keep an orchid around until it starts blooming again. I, on the other hand, wait until the grocery store sells them for $9.99 with my Dillions plus card.

I also like to make Matt throw the orchid stem away when I’m not looking. I am not a fan of killing things, so I make him do all the dirty work.

Feb 2013 073

Here we have a slightly blurry Tricolor Dracaena and, in the background and even blurrier, the longest living Peace Lily ever known to man. Seriously, I’ve had that Peace Lily for years and years. It’s been awhile since it last bloomed.

Maybe I’ll take a non-blurry picture when it happens.

Speaking of pictures, I took all of these with my 50 mm that I got for Christmas. I am DEFINITELY still learning how to use it properly. Sorry for the slightly out of focus pictures.

Feb 2013 082

This concludes the Plant Tour of 2013. Maybe I’ll be back with another post later in the week. One can dream, right? It is a holiday week (Valentine’s Day, duh), after all. I love any excuse to have a good time.

Until then, Mr. Gnome hopes you’ll give me (and my plants) two thumbs up.

And if you happen to hear from Pottery Barn, let me know.

4 thoughts on “Plant tour (continued)

  1. HI Audrey! I actually write the Pottery Barn blog and would love to chat with you about your blog (oh, and drainage holes in pots). 😉 Feel free to send me an email.

Leave a Reply

