Out on a limb

Spring Break 2013 has been a big fat bust. Most importantly, the weather has been awful. Cold, windy, rainy, and AS IF MY SANITY ISN’T IMPORTANT, we are expected to get another 5-12 inches of snow this weekend. As you can imagine, I’m ready for some warmer weather.

Preferably with a temperature above 65 degrees and zero snowflakes. I don’t ask for much. 😦

We’re gonna turn that frown upside down, however, by completing a few (giant) check-marks off the whole house TO-DO list since we’re going to be snowed in APPARENTLY. I’ll tell you what, there isn’t anything Mr. Pool loves more than when I get the fire under my butt to get a job done. My love doesn’t cost a thing, except…tsk tsk. Time’s awasting, Lover Boy.

So what is this big check-mark? I’ll give you a hint. It rhymes with LIMB and it lines the floor.

January 2013 054

I’ve spoken with a couple of different interior decorators about my trim dilemma. We have already purchased brand new 4 inch pine baseboard trim. Do we stain it to match the new flooring? Do we paint it? What color? What about the fireplace and staircase and window sills and door casings? Currently they are all maple.

So what about the baseboard trim? Decisions, decisions. It’s only taken me two months to decide. This is how I live my life. Look at rooms online, worry, talk Matt’s ear off, text my sister, ask a friend, call my Mom, worry, repeat.

START OVER. FROM THE TOP.

January 2013 051

January 2013 064

Say your good-byes to the chair rail. We’ve (read: I’ve) got big plans not only for the trim but also for the dining room. Good thing I know a handsome and strong handyman that loves to help me get the job done. He also loves when my Spring Break trip to good ‘ole GB, Kansas gets cancelled because of potential snow storms.

Looks like maybe Spring Break won’t be a bust after all.

Hopefully, I’ll be back with some ‘after’ pictures next week but I promise nothing.

2 thoughts on “Out on a limb

  1. Pingback: Dining room re-do | House of Pool

  2. Pingback: Dining room board and batten | House of Pool

Leave a Reply

